THE FORUM

28-Apr-24, 12:04:43 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Note: The views expressed on this page are not necessarily those of GVAS or Rfalconcam.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Falcon's Eye View of Rochester  (Read 7549 times)
Paul Hamilton
Tiercel

Like Count: 266

View Profile
« on: 24-Jan-10, 06:15:16 PM »

As some of you may know, I'm a flight instructor.  One of my students wanted to know if he could fly me to Rochester for a lesson.  Wow!  Not surprisingly, I thought it was a good idea, so off we went yesterday. 

Unfortunately, I would not get a chance to go downtown, but I did bring my camera along.  It turns out that the GPS 25 instrument approach, which we were assigned, goes right past Kodak Tower.  I had no time to actually aim at anything, but some careful cropping and editing last night turned the contents of the camera into something resembling photographs.

http://www.kodakgallery.com/gallery/creativeapps/slideShow/Main.jsp?token=946770002803%3A1061109728&cm_mmc=site_email-_-new_site_share-_-core-_-View_photos_link

Looking at these photos has given me a better idea of the relationships between the Powers Building, Kodak Tower, the Times Square Building, Genessee Gorge, and many other landmarks.  The resolution even allowed me to spot both nestboxes.  The best thing about the pictures was being able to experience a little of a Peregrine Falcon's perspective on Rochester.

Paul
Carol P.
Global Moderator
Never Leaves 'Puter

Like Count: 1004

Fly Baby Fly!

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 24-Jan-10, 06:36:01 PM »

Paul - Your pictures are outstanding!  bow Thanks so much for sharing them with us.  clap Sorry you couldn't stop for a quick visit.   wave

Peregrines know no borders.....
Donna
I'm Falcon Crazy

Like Count: 1650

<3 FLY FREE "CHARLOTTE" <3

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 24-Jan-10, 06:45:30 PM »